(email questions/comments to wrightted@aol.com).
Ted Wright -- last update 6/5/2009 (ChamberRepSears.html) www.cvilleok.com

Copyright 2009 -- Collinsville, Oklahoma

Collinsville Chamber of Commerce
June 4, 2009
Report on Oklahoma Legislative Session
This web site is brought to you by the Newspaper Museum In Collinsville and the other advertisers appearing on these pages. If you would like to provide content or advertisements ...
call Ted Wright (918) 371-1901 or send email to wrightted@aol.com.
Web www.cvilleok.com
You are invited to join the
Collinsville Chamber of Commerce.
Contact Wanda.

Membership Info

Ernie Davis (of the Collinsville Piggly Wiggly grocery) took over the presidency of the Collinsville Chamber of Commerce with Cory Slagle's move to Texas.

State Representative Earl Sears spoke to the chamber Thursday and gave a summary of the recently completed Oklahoma legislative session. The US/global recession caused budget shortage was the key driving issue for the 90+ day session in Oklahoma City for Sears' 3rd session representing Collinsville and District 11. With $950 million less "income" this year than last, $2.6 billion federal "stimulus" dollars to Oklahoma "with plenty of strings attached" provided back fill. Education, public safety, transportation, and health were "protected" and took no cuts. The federal $'s will provide some relief next year also but will be gone by 2012. The state's $600 million rainy day fund was left intact for the 5th straight year.

Saving the OSU Tulsa Hospital was cited as one of the many other key accomplishments of the 2009 legislative session.

Next Chamber
meet is July 2nd City Worker Appreciation
(at City Park)

Rep. Earl Sears accepted a belated Chamber "Community Service" Award from new Chamber President Ernie Davis

2009 Chamber Officers

Pres: Ernie Davis
VP: Jin Dolton
Sec/Tres: Billie Francis
Pres. Elect: __________(TBA)

Directors (2009-2011):
Nichole Landrum
Ted Wright
Bill Johnston

Directors (2008-2010):
Christine Wilson
Kelly Hamlin

1-Year Directors:

Rusty Poindexter
Kelvin Limbocker
Robin Lansaw
Daniel Boggs
Mickie Dessiatova
Don Hutchinson
Stacy Brown

Rep. Earl Sears Speaker
Ernie Davis Steps Up As New Chamber President
Representative Sears also made a surprise presentation of four District 11 "Making A Difference" awards to Brad Francis (accepted by Pam Polk), Ted Wright, Dr. Susan Babbitt & Bill Johnston.